Be a traveller and discover Malaysia's rich diversity


Located between two and seven degrees north of the Equator, Malaysia is formed by 13 states – Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang, Johor, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Selangor, Perak, Pulau Pinang, Kedah, Perlis, Sabah and Sarawak; and three Federal Territories – Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, and Labuan. Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan are located in East Malaysia, while others are in Peninsular Malaysia.

Area and Climate

Malaysia, with an area of approximately 329,847 square kilometres and a warm tropical climate with temperatures ranging from 23°C to 32°C, offers an endless range of exciting tourism products for visitors to explore and enjoy throughout the year.




Federal Territories

Malaysia Map

People and Culture

Malaysia is an enthralling country with a thriving multicultural population. Aside from Malays and indigenous groups, immigrants from China, India, Indonesia, and other parts of the world have all contributed to the country’s multi-racial population.

According to Malaysia’s Department of Statistics, the country’s population in 2020 is expected to be 32.7 million people. Out of the 29.7 million citizens, the Bumiputera (Malays and Orang Asli or indigenous peoples) make up 69.6 percent, the Chinese (22.6 percent), and Indians (6.9 percent), while others make up the rest (1.0 percent).

Religion And Language

Malaysia’s official religion is Islam, but other religions such as Buddhism, Hinduism, and Christianity are freely practised.

Although Bahasa Melayu (Malay) is the official language, English is widely spoken. The majority of Malaysians are multilingual, speaking a variety of languages and dialects including Mandarin, Cantonese, and Tamil.

Scroll to Top